Call Now : 09937011834,
Follow Us: Facebook Twitter
Home India Hotels India Tours Holiday Packages Weekend Breaks Travel Guide Tailor Made Holiday Contact Us

Navagraha Temple in Assam

Navagraha Temple As the name suggests, Navagraha Temple (or the temple of the nine celestial bodies), is a worship place devoted to the nine planets of the solar system, namely Surya (the sun), Chandra (the moon), Buddha (mercury), Mangala (mars), Brihaspati (Jupiter), Shukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu (Dragon's head) and finally Ketu (Dragon's tail). Each of these nine planets is represented by a shivalingam located within the temple (which total to nine). The nine lingams are covered by colored clothes, each color representing a different celestial body.

According to the inscriptions and recordings found on the walls of Navagraha temple, its origin dates back to the 18th century, to the reign of Ahom king Rajeswar Singha, son of Rudra Singha or Sukhrungphaa. A great earthquake destroyed a considerable portion of the temple a few centuries later, which was later rebuilt with ridged iron sheets. However, the Garbhagriha, built of brick, exists till date. Along with the temple, a tank was also excavated at some distance, to provide regular and easy water for the devotees who came to pay homage to the Gods. This tank, known as Silpukhuri, continues to supply water to the needy till date and is as full of water even today.
Send Query
Adult Children
© 2012 All Rights Reserved. Use of this site is subject to the Booking Terms, Site Terms and Privacy Policy. Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional